This Macrotone Joomla Timesheet FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) is intended to assist you in providing answers to some of the most commonly asked questions. It is intended to supplement the main documentation.
The release is now available for download in the 'Download' directory.
The initial release was for Joomla 3.4, but it runs on the current release versions of Joomla.
The component has been tested on the Beta 2 release of Joomla 3.5. This is the current latest release of Joomla 3.5 at the time of component release.
From Wikipedia: A timesheet (or time sheet) is a method for recording the amount of a worker's time spent on each job. Traditionally a sheet of paper with the data arranged in tabular format, a timesheet is now often a digital document or spreadsheet.
Control of entered timesheets is performed on site front end. Suitably authorised users can create and edit the timesheets. Approvers can authorise the prepared timesheets on the front end.
Yes it is necessary to grant the registered user the ACL permissions 'edit own' and 'create'.
The full product documentation is available as web pages and in PDF format. The documentation covers all releases.
No. The component does not modify any Joomla files.
The product documentation provides details of how the print output may be configured. An example is also provided of how to use the 'HTML boxes' to get one started.
Once a timesheet is approved it can not usually be changed by the user. It is possible for a site administrator via the back end to unlock an approved timesheet for subsequent editing by a user.
This depends upon where one deletes the user from. There are two situations. The first is if one deletes a user in the timesheet component itself. In this case the user is placed in the trash, and they still remain as a Joomla user. To completely remove them from the timesheet component it is necessary to 'empty the trash' when the any timesheets submitted by the user will be removed from the system and any users for whom they are a timesheet approver will have this 'approvers list' modified to remove the 'removed' user.
The second situation is when the user is deleted from the Joomla system itself, i.e. from the 'Joomla Users' component. In this situation just prior to the user being removed from the #__users table the user will also be removed from the timesheet component along with any timesheets them may have submitted. They are also removed from any other timesheet users 'approvers' list.
The system plugin provided in release 1.0.1 and above serves to 'synchonise' the Joomla user details with the timesheet user details. The plugin has a single parameter which is whether to automatically add any new Joomla users to the Timesheet system when they are initially created. Any subsequent user changes such as an email change or a name change will automatically be reflected in the timesheet tables if the plugin is enabled. The plugin also provides the linkage that controls the actions when a user is deleted from the Joomla user tables.
When released only the English language was available, however the component was written specifically to be able support other languages. Some translations have been provided by the community and are available for download. We welcome any submitted language translations that users might like to contribute. These would then be made available to the whole community.
The component uses the Transifex system and there are a few additional languages being provided. Please see the appropriate pages on the site for details of the currently available translations.